Annual Congregational Meeting Minutes Unitarian Universalists of Transylvania County May 21, 2023

The time, date, and purposes of the Annual Congregational Meeting were published two weeks prior to the May 21, 2023, meeting. During the weeks before the in-person meeting, an agenda with proposed resolutions, the Nominations Committee's slate of nominees for the Board of Trustees, the Nominations Committee, and the Endowment Committee, the FY 2023-2024 Budget, and the May 15, 2022, Annual Congregational Meeting draft minutes were made available to members via email and website. In addition, a Budget Forum was held on May 4 to allow presentation and discussion of the proposed budget. Voting was done in person or by absentee ballot. The Board Secretary received three Absentee Ballots.

A quorum of 43 Members was required to conduct business. The Board Secretary established that the number of Members present exceeded the quorum, and the meeting was convened by President Alice Wellborn. Alice began the meeting with remarks highlighting her tenure as President, thanking Board members for their support.

Following Alice's remarks, the May 2022, Annual Congregational Meeting draft minutes were presented for approval. Jim Null made a motion to approve the minutes from the May 15, 2022, Annual Congregational Meeting; Dave Roberts seconded the motion. Hearing no discussion, the motion was approved unanimously. The approved minutes will be electronically filed and posted to the website.

Endowment Committee member Roberta Miller presented the Endowment Committee Annual Report to the Congregation. She shared information about the two recipient entities that received awards, totaling \$8,000.00, for FY2022-2023. Both groups are part of the same organization, the Mary C. Jenkins Cultural and Community Center.

Nominations Committee member Peter Mockridge was recognized to present the slate of nominees for positions on the Board of Trustees, the Nominations Committee, and the Endowment Committee. He shared that they were unable to secure a nominee for the Board Secretary position. The nominees for elected leadership positions were announced, and Alice then opened the floor for additional nominations. Hearing none, Jim Null made a motion to approve the slate of nominees presented by acclamation; Jim Hardy seconded the motion. The motion to elect by acclamation the slate of nominees presented for the Board of Trustees was approved.

Members elected to the 2023-2024 Board of Trustees are:

Ian Cowie - President Phillip Thomason - President-Elect Mike Griffith - Treasurer Victoria Kerr - Treasurer-Elect Glenn Cockerham - Member-at-Large (3rd term) Vicki Held - Member-at-Large (2nd term) Jill Beach – Member-at-Large (1st term) Members elected to the 2023-2024 Nominations Committee are: Susan Zelle (3rd term) Susan Slocum (1st term) Donna Reyburn (1st term)

Members elected to the 2023-2024 Endowment Committee are: Richard Mills (2nd term) Margaret Brown (1st term) Sharon Moya (1st term)

To fill the vacant position of Board Secretary, the Nominations Committee suggested a temporary suspension of specific Bylaws that define the term limits of the Board Secretary. Peter Mockridge explained that the current secretary was willing to serve a fourth year and that the suspension of these specific Bylaws would enable the election of a Board Secretary. After explaining the specific Bylaws to be suspended, Michael Solomon made a motion to temporarily suspend Bylaws Article V, Section D, 1c and 2 for the purpose of electing a Board Secretary for 2023-2024; Bob Bennett seconded the motion. Alice opened the floor for discussion. Dave Roberts spoke against the motion, stating that it would be a bad precedent to suspend Bylaws. Jim Null suggested that the Bylaws allow for the Board to appoint a Member to the Board when a vacancy occurs. After further discussion, Michael Solomon withdrew his motion to suspend the Bylaws and suggested that the Board should consider revisiting the Bylaws concerning vacancies for Board positions. The 2023-2024 Board of Trustees will need to appoint a Member of the Congregation to fill the vacant Board Secretary position in July 2023.

The final resolution called for the approval of the FY 2023-2024 Operating Budget. Members were presented opportunities to discuss the budget proposal at a Budget Forum prior to the congregational meeting. Treasurer Mike Griffith stated that he felt that the final proposal presented to the Congregation was a sound budget. Rick Laws made a motion to approve the proposed FY 2023-2024 Operating Budget; Dave Roberts seconded the motion. The motion was approved unanimously.

Alice Wellborn entertained a motion to adjourn. Alice Hardy moved to adjourn; Rick Laws seconded the motion. The meeting adjourned at 11:45M.

Actions taken by Members during the Congregational Meeting will be communicated to Members and Friends in the newsletter. Physical documents from this meeting will be retained for three years.

Respectfully submitted, Kay Webb Board Secretary